Library Hours

Monday ~ Thursday 9 am - 8 pm
Friday & Saturday 9 am - 5 pm
Sundays 12 noon - 5 pm. 

Tech Help Hours

Saturday & Thursday from 2:00 - 4:00 or by appointment. 


Library Holidays Fiscal Year 2017

Monday, July 4 - Independence Day

Monday, September 5 - Labor Day

Thursday, November 24 - Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 25 - Day after Thanksgiving

Saturday, December 24 - Christmas Eve

Sunday, December 25 - Christmas Day

Monday, December 26 - Christmas Day (observed)

Sunday, January 1 - New Year's Day

Monday, January 2 - New Year's Day (observed)

Monday, January 16 - Martin Luther King Day

Monday, February 20 - Presidents Day

Saturday, April 15 - Easter Saturday

Sunday, April 16 - Easter

Sunday, May 28 - Memorial Day Sunday

Monday, May 29 - Memorial Day


The Library CLOSES at 5:00 pm on the days preceding the following holidays:


New Year's Day, Independence Day and Thanksgiving Day


The Library closes on Sundays for the summer on a variable date in June following the closing of the public schools and reopens on Sunday, September 25.


The Library is OPEN on the following State legal holidays: Lincoln's Birthdary, Washington's Birthday, Columbus Day, Veteran's Day.




The New Canaan Library occupies nearly a whole block in the village of New Canaan bounded by South Avenue and Main Street on the west and east, respectively, and Cherry and Maple Streets.

Best from the Merritt Parkway:
Take Exit 37. Turn left onto South Avenue (Route 124). Follow approximately two miles to Maple Street, just past the municipal parking lot on the right. Turn right onto Maple Street. The Library parking lot entrance is on the left in the middle of block.

From I-95 Southbound:
Take Exit 15 - Route 7 connector northbound to the Merritt Parkway exit, heading southbound. Follow the directions from the parkway above.

From I-95 Northbound:
Take Exit 11. Turn left onto the Boston Post Road.
Turn left onto Rte. 124. Follow Rte. 124 into New Canaan. After it crosses the Merritt,
follow directions above. It's approximately five miles from the Post Road to the Library.

For a detailed street map of our location please click here.