Library Hours
 

Monday ~ Thursday 9 am - 8 pm
Friday & Saturday 9 am - 5 pm
Sundays 12 noon - 5 pm. Closed summer Sundays, June 21 through September 13, 2015
 

Library Holidays Fiscal Year 2015

 
Independence Day - Friday, July 4, 2014
Labor Day - Monday, September 1, 2014
Thanksgiving Day - Thursday November 27 and Friday November 28, 2014
Christmas Eve - Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Christmas Day - Thursday, December 25, 2014
New Year's Day - Thursday, January 1, 2015
Martin Luther King Day - Monday, January 19, 2015
Presidents' Day - Monday, February 16, 2015
Good Friday - Friday, April 3, 2015
Easter - Sunday, April 5, 2015
Memorial Day - Sunday and Monday, May 24 and 25, 2015
 

The Library CLOSES at 5:00 pm on the days preceding the following holidays:

 

New Year's Day, Independence Day and Thanksgiving Day

 

The Library closes on Sundays for the summer on a variable date in June following the closing of the public schools and reopens on the Sunday following the Labor Day weekend.

 

The Library is OPEN on the following State legal holidays: Lincoln's Birthdary, Washington's Birthday, Columbus Day, Veteran's Day.

 

 

Directions
 

The New Canaan Library occupies nearly a whole block in the village of New Canaan bounded by South Avenue and Main Street on the west and east, respectively, and Cherry and Maple Streets.
 

Best from the Merritt Parkway:
Take Exit 37. Turn left onto South Avenue (Route 124). Follow approximately two miles to Maple Street, just past the municipal parking lot on the right. Turn right onto Maple Street. The Library parking lot entrance is on the left in the middle of block.
 

From I-95 Southbound:
Take Exit 15 - Route 7 connector northbound to the Merritt Parkway exit, heading southbound. Follow the directions from the parkway above.
 

From I-95 Northbound:
Take Exit 11. Turn left onto the Boston Post Road.
Turn left onto Rte. 124. Follow Rte. 124 into New Canaan. After it crosses the Merritt,
follow directions above. It's approximately five miles from the Post Road to the Library.
 

For a detailed street map of our location please click here.