New and Recommended Fiction for March

Click on this link for a complete list of our recent additions in fiction!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Calling me home (FICTION) -- A debut novel interweaving the story of a heartbreaking, forbidden love in 1930s Kentucky with an unlikely modern-day friendship. Eighty-nine-year-old Isabelle McAllister has a favor to ask her hairdresser Dorrie Curtis: drop everything and drive from Arlington, Texas, to a funeral in Cincinnati. Tomorrow. Dorrie, fleeing problems of her own, agrees. It's a journey that changes both their lives, as she learns Isabelle's tale of a forbidden relationship and its tragic consequences-- a tale that just might help Dorrie find her own way.

 

Three graves full (MYSTERY FICTION) -- Pushed into committing a murder that he covers up by burying the body in his backyard, mild-mannered Jason Getty finds his life completely unraveling when a landscaper discovers two other graves on his property.

 

 

A natural history of dragons : a memoir by Lady Trent (FANTASY FICTION) -- Isabella, Lady Trent, known as the world's preeminent dragon naturalist, writes her memoir detailing how she sought true love and happiness despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the perilous mountains of Vystrana, where she made the first of many historic dragon discoveries that would change the world forever.

 

 

The mad scientist's guide to world domination : original short fiction for the modern evil genius (SCIENCE FICTION) -- Everybody loves villains. They’re bad; they always stir the pot; they’re much more fun than the good guys, even if we want to see the good guys win. Their fiendish schemes, maniacal laughter, and limitless ambition are legendary, but what lies behind those crazy eyes and wicked grins? How—and why—do they commit these nefarious deeds? And why are they so set on taking over the world? If you’ve ever asked yourself any of these questions, you’re in luck: It’s finally time for the madmen’s side of the story.

 

Frances and Bernard (FICTION) -- Inspired by the lives of Flannery O’Connor and Robert Lowell, Frances and Bernard imagines, through new characters with charms entirely their own, what else might have happened. It explores the limits of faith, passion, sanity, what it means to be a true friend, and the nature of acceptable sacrifice. In witness to all the wonder of kindred spirits and bittersweet romance, Frances and Bernard is a tribute to the power of friendship and the people who help us discover who we are.

 

Black Irish (MYSTERY FICTION) -- In this explosive debut thriller by the New York Times bestselling author of Empire of Blue Water, a brilliant homicide detective returns home, where she confronts a city's dark demons and her own past while pursuing a brutal serial killer on a vengeful rampage.

 

 

Dreams and shadows (FICTION) -- Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons. Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

 

Red velvet cupcake murder (MYSTERY FICTION) -- When one of her famous Red Velvet cupcakes is thought to have caused the death of her rival--a scandalous Lake Eden legend who was trying to steal her boyfriend--Hannah Swensen becomes the unlikely suspect in a murder investigation and must whip up the real killer before someone else gets iced.

 

 

Extinction (FICTION) -- When a Chinese assassin shows up at Jim Pierce's lab looking for his daughter, he knows she's uncovered some serious secrets: a malevolent, artificial life form created by military scientists that threatens to destroy humanity.

 

 

The imposter bride (FICTION) -- In the wake of World War II, a young, enigmatic woman named Lily arrives in Montreal on her own, expecting to be married to a man she’s never met. But, upon seeing her at the train station, Sol Kramer turns her down. Out of pity, his brother Nathan decides to marry her instead, and pity turns into a deep—and doomed—love. It is immediately clear that Lily is not who she claims to be. Her attempt to live out her life as Lily Azerov shatters when she disappears, leaving a new husband and a baby daughter with only a diary, a large uncut diamond – and a need to find the truth.

 

The woman who wouldn't die (MYSTERY FICTION) -- When a murdered woman suddenly reappears in her Lao village home with clairvoyant powers and is enlisted by a ghost to help find his remains at the bottom of a river, national coroner Siri Paiboun oversees the excavation.

 

 

Nexus (SCIENCE FICTION) -- In the near future, the experimental nano-drug Nexus can link human together, mind to mind. There are some who want to improve it. There are some who want to eradicate it. And there are others who just want to exploit it. When a young scientist is caught improving Nexus, he's thrust over his head into a world of danger and international espionage -- for there is far more at stake than anyone realizes.