New and Recommended YA Fiction

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 Things I Thought Were True, by Janet Gurtler

Eighteen-year-old Morgan has a lot of friends Twitter friends, to be exact. When real life gets complicated, like when her best friend posts a humiliating video of her dancing in boy's underwear, she turns to Twitter for escape. Online she can be funny and confident in a way that she can't at school or her summer job. Twitter can't prepare her for her mother's heart surgery, though, or tell her what to do when her mother confides the name and location of Morgan's birth father. My dad isn't dead after all. #truestory, Morgan tweets before deciding to confront him for never being there. Cue road trip with two coworkers crush-worthy Adam and impulsive Amy who both seem to like her despite her gun-shy attitude. Peppering her prose with tweets and texts, Gurtler contrasts the quick appeal of casual online friendships with the lasting satisfaction of giving the same attention to real relationships.

 

Dreams of Gods and Monsters, by Laini Taylor

In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she's ever known. When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat--and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves--maybe even toward love. From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera, and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.

 

Exposure, by Kathy and Brendan Reichs

"If you like the TV show Bones (I do) or Maximum Ride, you'll love Virals. "-James Patterson  

Another thrilling Virals adventure from  New York Times bestsellers Kathy and Brendan Reichs. When twin classmates are abducted from Bolton Prep, Tory and the Virals decide there's no one better equipped than them to investigate. But the gang has other problems to face. Their powers are growing wilder, and becoming harder to control. Chance Claybourne is investigating the disastrous medical experiment that twisted their DNA. The bonds that unite them are weakening, threatening the future of the pack itself. The Virals must decipher the clues and track down a ruthless criminal before he strikes again, all while protecting their secret from prying eyes. And everyone seems to be watching. 

 

The Last Forever, by Deb Caletti

Beginnings and endings overlap in this soaring novel of love and loss from bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti. Nothing lasts forever, and no one gets that more than Tessa. After her mother died, it's all she can do to keep her friends, her boyfriend, her happiness from slipping away. And then there's her dad. He's stuck in his own daze, and it's hard to feel like a family when their house no longer seems like a home. Her father's solution? An impromptu road trip that lands them in a small coastal town. Despite all the beauty there, Tessa can't help but feel even more lost. Her most cherished possession-a rare plant of her mother's-is starting to wither, and with it, Tessa's heart and her hope. Enter Henry Lark. He understands the relationships that matter. And more important, he understands her. Though secrets stand between them, each has a chance at healing...if first, Tessa can find the courage to believe in forever.

 

Love Letters to the Dead, by Ava Dellaira

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more - though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live withher splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was - lovely and amazing and deeply flawed - can she begin to discover her own path.

 

Storm, by D.J. MacHale

From #1 New York Times bestselling author D.J. MacHale comes STORM, the exhilarating, action-packed sequel to SYLO. "Absolutely un-put-downable, more exciting than an X-box and roller coaster combined."- Kirkus, starred review. "With this extremely high-octane story that's the equivalent to a summer movie blockbuster, MacHale kicks off an apocalyptic trilogy sure to leave readers demanding the next installment." - Booklist.

 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, by Leslye Walton

Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga. Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender.  Ava -- in all other ways a normal girl -- is born with the wings of a bird. In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and naive to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the summer solstice celebration. That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava's quest and her family's saga build to a devastating crescendo. First-time author Leslye Walton has constructed a layered and unforgettable mythology of what it means to be born with hearts that are tragically, exquisitely human.

 

The Winner’s Curse, by Marie Rutkoski

In the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare comes this brilliant, star-crossed romance about the curse of winning: what you want may cost you everything you love   As a general's daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.  Arin's eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him-with unexpected consequences. It's not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.