2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner for Poetry Vijay Seshadri Will Perform at the New Canaan Library

Category: AuthorsCategory: Speakers & Lecture Series
Location: Adrian Lamb Room

New Canaan Library is pleased and honored to announce that Vijay Seshadri, this year’s Pulitzer Prize winner for Poetry, will speak at the Library on Thursday, August 21, 2014 at 7 PM. The event is co-sponsored by Stamford-based Mayapple Center for the Arts and Humanities, and will take place in the Library’s Adrian Lamb Room.

New York-based author, critic, essayist and literary critic Vijay Seshadri will speak about and perform readings from his Pulitzer Prize winning collection of poetry, 3 Sections. The Pulitzer committee described 3 Sections as “a compelling collection of poems that examine human consciousness, from birth to dementia, in a voice that is by turns witty and grave, compassionate and remorseless.”  Mr. Seshadri will also read from previously published collections, including The Long Meadow (2003), winner of the James Laughlin Award, as well as introduce a few new poems. The Library is honored to have a literary figure of such stature as part of our visiting author program.

Mr. Seshadri is the author of the collections Wild KingdomThe Long Meadow, and 3 Sections (all from Graywolf Press), and "The Disappearances" (Harper-Collins India). His essays, reviews, and memoir fragments have appeared in periodicals such as The New YorkerThe New York Times Book ReviewThe Threepenny ReviewThe American ScholarVerse, and in the anthologies The Anchor Essay Annual—Best Essays of 1998 and Best Creative Nonfiction (2008). A former editor at The New Yorker, he is currently the Michele Tolela Myers Professor of Writing at Sarah Lawrence College, where he was for over a decade the director of the college’s nonfiction writing program. He holds a BA from Oberlin College and a MFA from Columbia University and has received grants from the New York Foundation from the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, the MacDowell Colony’s Fellowship for Distinguished Poetic Achievement, a fellowshipfrom the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the James Laughlin Award.

Register Now>>